Declaration by United Nations

Soon after the bombing of Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, British prime minister Winston Churchill met with United States president Franklin D. Roosevelt in Washington, D.C., to develop strategies for coping with the global crisis. One such strategy, the Declaration by United Nations, emphasized their collective dedication to winning World War II (1939-1945). This declaration incorporated principles of the Atlantic Charter, which the two leaders had agreed to in August 1941. Twenty-six countries signed the declaration, pledging their resources to defeat the Axis powers of Germany, Italy, and Japan. Herbert S. Parmet

Declaration by United Nations

January 1, 1942

A Joint Declaration by the United States, the United Kingdom, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, China, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, South Africa, Yugoslavia

The Governments signatory hereto,

Having subscribed to a common program of purposes and principles embodied in the Joint Declaration of the President of the United States of America and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland dated August 14, 1941, known as the Atlantic Charter.

Being convinced that complete victory over their enemies is essential to defend life, liberty, independence and religious freedom, and to preserve human rights and justice in their own lands as well as in other lands, and that they are now engaged in a common struggle against savage and brutal forces seeking to subjugate the world,


(1) Each Government pledges itself to employ its full resources, military or economic, against those members of the Tripartite Pact: and its adherents with which such government is at war.

(2) Each Government pledges itself to cooperate with the Governments signatory hereto and not to make a separate armistice or peace with the enemies.

The foregoing declaration may be adhered to by other nations which are, or which may be, rendering material assistance and contributions in the struggle for victory over Hitlerism.

Done at Washington …

The adherents to the Declaration by United Nations, together with the date of communication of adherence, are as follows:
Mexico June 5, 1942
Philippines June 10, 1942
Ethiopia July 28, 1942
Iraq Jan. 16, 1943
Brazil Feb. 8, 1943
Bolivia Apr. 27, 1943
Iran Sept. 10, 1943
Colombia Dec. 22, 1943
Liberia Feb. 26, 1944
France Dec. 26, 1944
Peru Feb. 11, 1945
Chile Feb. 12, 1945
Paraguay Feb. 12, 1945
Venezuela Feb. 16, 1945
Uruguay Feb. 23, 1945
Turkey Feb. 24, 1945
Egypt Feb. 27, 1945
Saudi Arabia Mar. 1, 1945
Lebanon Mar. 1, 1945
Syria Mar. 1, 1945
Ecuador Feb. 7. 1945

0 comment:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...